How to Support a Reading Addiction

Holly Huntress
4 min readOct 12, 2021

--

First, you must admit you have a problem…you need more books! Let’s solve that problem, and not break the bank doing it. It’s time to save money on books. If you’re like me and love the smell of a new book, treat yourself! Head to Barnes and Noble or a local bookstore! I am all about supporting other writers by buying their work and spreading the word. Sometimes it is not always feasible to be spending hundreds of dollars a year on books. Let’s be honest, books are expensive!

Traditional Route

I took a trip to B&N last week to check out some books aimed at blogging and writing. What I found was great, but one book cost $30, and I really needed more than just the one. So, I quickly pulled out my phone and checked Amazon. Thankfully, I found the same books I wanted for about $5 less each, which added up for me! If I were just buying one book, I would pay the extra money for the convenience of having it immediately.

Save Money: Online Thrift Store

As you can already tell, one of my suggestions for avid readers who need to save a little money is to compare pricing. Other than B&N or Amazon, I have found a great website called “Thrift Books” (find it here). It is great for my bank account.

You can find so many great books on their website for less than $5 a piece. Plus, shipping is free if you spend over $10, which is easy to do! You can also earn free books when you collect enough points. This is a great option to help you save money when you want to buy more than one or two books. I usually buy three or four at a time.

Another great thing about Thrift Books is they give you opportunities to save even more. They price their books depending on their condition. It breaks down into New, Like New, Very Good, Good, and Acceptable. I have ordered books considered “Acceptable” before and had no issues with the book while reading. More recent releases are harder to find. I usually just head over to B&N if there is a new book out that I want to read ASAP.

Sell Books to Buy Books and Save Money

Another way to save money and make some money to buy new books is to cull out your collection. eBay and Mercari are two sites that I’ve used in the past to sell some old books. These are also good places to find books for yourself too if they aren’t available on Thrift Books or at your local thrift store (which is another great place to find books for cheap). eBay does make me a little wary sometimes but usually, the people at eBay are very helpful. Mercari is a little easier to use in my opinion.

Borrowing

Last but not least, a great place to find books and not have to spend any money, is the LIBRARY! I was actually scrolling through Facebook the other day and came across this article:

https://www.wmtw.com/article/more-americans-went-to-the-library-last-year-than-to-the-movies-a-new-gallup-poll-finds/30681440

The article talks about how people are going to the library more than the movies, and which is great! Of course, the last time I went to a library was when I was in college. I am going to make it a point this year to go to our town library and check it out! We should all try to utilize this amazing resource that can be found in almost any area. I will be sure to let you know when I head to the library and what great books I stumble upon.

Now, get out there and find a new book to read!

If you’d like to comment/share thoughts, feel free! I respond to all comments.

If you want to show your support for my page, you can 1) share my posts with friends and family, 2) follow me on social media/engage with my posts, or 3) buy me a coffee

Thank you for reading!

--

--

Holly Huntress

Author and content creator. My books - the Broken Angel series & Unbound - can be found on Amazon!