Author Spotlight: Sarah Surgey

Holly Huntress
4 min readNov 21, 2021

--

This week’s author in the spotlight is Sarah Surgey!

Author Interview with Sarah Surgey

When did you first start writing?

I have been freelance writing for around ten years now, writing for various magazines. I started out writing articles about nordic films, books, and TV. However, as most writers will tell you … they have written their whole lives!

When did you know you wanted to be an author?

Whilst I was writing articles about and interviewing authors it just all fell into place, every time I asked them this very same question. I understood how they felt.

Was there any author or book in particular that inspired you to write? Or a teacher/mentor?

Not really. Not because no one has inspired me to the point of wanting to be a writer but because everyone has! I can’t actually pin the moment down. I am inspired every day by words and those who write them.

What genre do you write?

I have written an adult crime fiction novel and currently sitting in Children’s books. It may sound like a complete jump but it’s not. When you write, no matter who your audience or what your subject, you want to write well, you want to engage and you want people to come back for more.

What inspires you to write the most?

Daily thoughts. If I’m at a loss; I write. If I’m in a happy place; I write. If I feel creative; I write and so on…

What is your favorite thing about writing?

Freedom to process thoughts.

How many books have you written? What are they called? Where can they be found/bought?

A Presence of Absence was my first novel (found on Amazon.co.uk) The Heavy Bag is my latest release. It is a book that helps children coping with grief/loss. Amazon.co.uk or my webshop Sarahsurgey.com

What do you write — short stories, poems, novels, novellas, blog posts etc. — and which do you enjoy writing the most?

I am not good at poetry and to be honest I struggle with reading it, not sure why! Short stories are definitely my area.

Have you tried to go the traditional route with publishing? How did it go?

So, I have self-published in the UK and Germany for The Heavy Bag and this piqued the interest of publishing houses for the foreign rights, so I am also under publishing houses as well now.

Are you self-published? How did that go and what route did you take?

Self-published through my own webshop, own printing, and then onto Amazon… self-publishing has opened up so many doors.

Who is your favorite author now? What is it you like about them?

I can never answer this as I have so many and it is not always about the author for me but the story. However, Liza Marklund is one of my favourites! I love how she builds up the characters and the progression that we as the reader sees grows alongside the actual narrative.

Do you have any favorite books you recommend right now?

The Chestnut Man by Soren Sveistrup and I know it is now going to become a Netflix production.

Do you have any advice for aspiring authors?

I think my biggest advice is remove the word aspiring… go for it. Authors sit for so long behind lack of confidence and call themselves aspiring. Go for it, write, publish and market then you will learn and grow from it. You need to take those first steps.

Are you on Twitter/Instagram/Facebook or do you have an author website we should check out as readers?

Yes, @sarahsurgeywriter Instagram

Sarah Surgey Writer Facebook

End of Author Interview with Sarah Surgey

I hope you enjoyed learning more about author Sarah Surgey! Make sure to check out her books and follow her on social media to keep up with her future projects.

If you want to read more author interviews, check them out here!

If you’d like to comment/share thoughts, feel free! I respond to all comments.

If you want to show your support for my page, you can 1) share my posts with friends and family, 2) follow me on social media/engage with my posts, or 3) buy me a coffee

Thank you for reading!

--

--

Holly Huntress

Author and content creator. My books - the Broken Angel series & Unbound - can be found on Amazon!