Author Spotlight: Matthew Rawlins

Holly Huntress
5 min readDec 5, 2021

--

This week’s author in the spotlight is Matthew Rawlins!

Author Interview with Matthew Rawlins

When did you first start writing?

My passion for writing started at a very young age, probably around 8 when I first started reading on my own. The world of books really captured my imagination and sparked a lifelong urge to write like my literary heroes.

When did you know you wanted to be an author?

I was lucky enough to study Screenwriting at the National Film and Television School and wrote a number of scripts and plays that were produced in London. When I left the school I managed to secure representation with United Agents and continued writing scripts for film and TV. My love of books never went away and as I investigated the scripts I was writing I started to think why am I not writing these ideas as books. So my journey as an author began…

Was there any author or book in particular that inspired you to write? Or a teacher/mentor?

Writing-wise, probably my most influential mentor was Jan Fleischer, a key player in the new wave of Czech cinema. But the books that have really inspired me include Brighton Rock, The Outsiders, One Flew over the Cuckoo’s Nest, The Master and the Margarita, Mr Vertigo, the list goes on. I have always relished the insight into new worlds that authors can bring to light.

What genre do you write?

My first published book is a children’s detective series but my next book is a coming of age story for older readers.

What inspires you to write the most?

Examining the world and ourselves. Many people in my experience are on autopilot as they traverse the many hurdles and experiences life presents us with. As Ferris Bueller said “Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while you could miss it.” A life unexamined, in my opinion, is hardly worth living.

What is your favorite thing about writing?

Building worlds and capturing people’s imaginations. Writing a book is hard work but if you pull it off and you introduce a whole new slice of life to your readers then all the hard work is worth it.

How many books have you written? What are they called? Where can they be found/bought?

I have written three books. One is published; Oscar and his Spectacular Spectacles — The Case of the Mystery Victory. This is the first in the Oscar and his Spectacular Spectacles series, the second one is well underway as is the movie script. The book is available on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Waterstones, and all other major bookstores https://amzn.to/36WMndx

What do you write — short stories, poems, novels, novellas, blog posts etc. — and which do you enjoy writing the most?

I mainly concentrate on my novels at the moment although I have recently started writing scripts again.

Have you tried to go the traditional route with publishing? How did it go?

I had an agent for many years for my script work which was a really exciting journey. When it comes to my books I went direct to publishers and managed to get a publishing contract. In my limited experience, the benefit of having a publisher behind you is that you get taken more seriously from the outset. Moving forward I will be going down the agent route as they are invaluable when it comes to the negotiation stage of any contractual work. Writing a book is only half the battle, there are so many books out there you have to, as an author, find your own ways to cut through the noise and get your voice heard — this applies if you go down the more traditional route of publishing or self publish.

Who is your favorite author now? What is it you like about them?

Hard question. I have recently been re-reading Charles Bukowksi — I have always loved his writing. It’s unashamed, that’s what I probably like about it the most, there is no apology it is just raw life.

Do you have any favorite books you recommend right now?

The Master and the Margarita is my favourite book of all time, my go-to when I am recommending books. It is a must read for any reader.

Do you have any advice for aspiring authors?

The best advice I could give is to keep at it. Lots of writers say you have to just keep writing and I would agree however there is a whole other side of writing and getting books published. Make sure you are totally versed in all of the social media channels and don’t think it’s done when you’ve written the last word at the end of your book. The beauty of books is how the reader can apply their imagination when reading it, create their own worlds within the words…once your book is out there it has a new life, make sure you treat your work in the same way; a good story never stops growing.

Are you on Twitter/Instagram/Facebook or do you have an author website we should check out as readers?

I mainly use Instagram and Facebook, although I am on Twitter. My handle on all social media is @Oscarspecs and I love engaging with my readers and keeping track of my fellow authors and finding inspiration

Is there anything else you want to share about your writing or that you want your readers to know?

I always write with a purpose. I want my writing to take readers on a journey but also always to shine a light on an important issue. My first book is a detective story but also helps children with confidence issues, specifically children who have to wear glasses and struggle with confidence because of it. Remember heroes can wear specs too. #HeroesWearSpecs

End of Author Interview with Matthew Rawlins

I hope you enjoyed learning more about author Matthew Rawlins! Make sure to check out his books and follow him on social media to keep up with his future projects.

If you want to read more author interviews, check them out here!

If you’d like to comment/share thoughts, feel free! I respond to all comments.

If you want to show your support for my page, you can 1) share my posts with friends and family, 2) follow me on social media/engage with my posts, or 3) buy me a coffee

Thank you for reading!

--

--

Holly Huntress

Author and content creator. My books - the Broken Angel series & Unbound - can be found on Amazon!