A Beginner Writing Poetry

Holly Huntress
3 min readSep 23, 2021

--

Now is a great time to channel our emotions into art. One way to do this is through poetry. I am no expert when it comes to writing poetry, I am definitely still a beginner. In school, I never saw the deeper meaning behind a poet’s word. It took me a long time to understand what they were saying at all, let alone what lay beneath.

While I don’t enjoy analyzing poetry, I have always loved writing it. It was not until this past year that I got into writing poems again. I have never written any poems that weren’t for school.

My favorite style of poem to write is free form. This is the easiest and most enjoyable to write in my opinion, because there are no guidelines. If you want to read some of those poems, check them out here!

Haiku

Sometimes I like to play around with more standard poetry, though. Here is a Haiku I wrote just for my newsletter.

Today is the day
I will finally break free
of my own self doubt

For those who don’t know, a haiku is three lines. The first is made up of 5 syllables, the second 7 syllables, and the third 5 syllables. If you want to watch a scene from one of my favorite shows where they have a haiku battle. It is from Avatar: The Last Airbender which used to be on Nickelodeon.

Sonnet

I wrote a sonnet just for this post. The only guideline I followed was the rhyming scheme. There are two different types that I found, Shakespearean and Petrarchan. (I’m sure there are others, but I went with the Shakespearean sonnet rhyme scheme. ABAB CDCD EFEF GG)

Here is what I came up with:

Stop the spread, stay inside
These are the words we hear.
So begins the great divide
between those who do and don't adhere.
Some feel invincible
others panic out of fear.
The whole of it is incredible,
making some wonder, is the end really near?
It seems there will be no end
that there is no help coming.
Keep pushing them until they bend.
Give it time, the rest will be succumbing.
There will always be some light in the darkness
we must remember this to restore our calmness.

Acrostic

As you can tell if you have read all of my poems, I never write about happy topics. I find more inspiration from struggles and sadness. So, I will attempt to write a happy acrostic poem now! An acrostic poem spells a word or name with the first letter of each line. So, I will write an acrostic poem using my name!

How can it be possible?
One look is all it takes,
Light surrounds you like a halo,
Love swells inside me like a balloon.
You have my heart and all of me.

I hope that you find some inspiration here to write some poems of your own! Let me know your favorite style of poem, I would love to try out some new ones! Also reach out if you are a beginner writing poetry like me, or if you have been doing it for a while. I would love to hear what everyone else is doing.

If you’d like to comment/share thoughts, feel free! I respond to all comments.

If you want to show your support for my blog, you can 1) Share them with friends and family, 2) follow me on social media/engage with my posts, or 3) buy me a coffee

Thank you for reading!

--

--

Holly Huntress

Author and content creator. My books - the Broken Angel series & Unbound - can be found on Amazon!